An Excerpt of The Sisters Club by Lauren Baratz-Logsted

Pages Abound is pleased to bring you this special excerpt from The Sisters Club by Lauren Baratz-Logsted. And don’t forget to check out the giveaway being offered!

Displaying TSC BT Ban.jpg

EXCERPT

     Alone, I did what I did most days since Dan had moved me here: lived the life of a lady of leisure, tidying up a bit before the cleaning lady came. Mostly, I thought about my life.

A long time ago I had taken the words of the Duchess of Windsor to heart. I’d wanted nothing more than to be rich and thin. And loved, of course, but that had always seemed like an impossible dream until Dan came along. Now, thanks to Dan, I had that as well as the first item in the Duchess’s dictum. I lived in a house that could only be termed a modern mansion, made of red brick with white trim and black shutters framing the long windows, not far from one of the best golf courses in the country. Dan always said that, come the warm weather, he’d teach me how to play. I thought it was great that he’d want me there, part of his own private oasis of sanity, but even though I smiled whenever he suggested it, I knew I’d never say yes. The idea was sheer madness; there were too many possible sand traps of embarrassment there. For whatever else I was, whatever Dan had enabled me to become – a rich woman who was loved – I’d never have the other half of the Duchess’s equation: I would never be too thin.

Of all the men I’d been with in my forty-two years, and I had been with several, Dan was the only one who never asked me to lose weight for him.

“You have such a pretty face.” I’d heard those words all my life. And it was true: thick blond hair I usually wore up in a French braid, soft brown eyes, naturally clear skin that any spotty actress would envy, a cupid mouth revealing even white teeth. I did have a pretty face. And yet even Fat Frank, who would have outweighed me on that bathroom scale by at least a hundred American pounds, had always said, “If only you’d lose a bit of that weight, Di, you’d be such a looker.”

As if he was one to talk.

But Dan never said that. Oh, he did tell me I had a pretty face, often. But he also told me the rest of me was pretty too.

The phone rang and when I looked at Caller I.D., I saw it was London calling: my sister, Artemis. Well, it was already afternoon there.

I let it ring for a few times, debating whether or not to pick up. Even reviewing the hurtful things men had said to me in the past was sometimes preferable to talking to Artemis; if I were a bunny rabbit, I often thought, Artemis would be both my carrot and my stick. But I knew if I didn’t pick up, she’d only keep calling. Artemis knew I rarely left the house.

Displaying TheSistersClub_1400.jpg

The Sisters Club Synopsis:

Four women have little in common other than where they live and the joyous complications of having sisters. Cindy waits for her own life to begin as she sees her sister going in and out of hospitals. Lise has made the boldest move of her life, even as her sister spends every day putting herself at risk to improve the lives of others. Diana is an ocean apart from her sister, but worries that her marriage is the relationship separated by the most distance. Sylvia has lost her twin sister to breast cancer, a disease that runs in the family, and fears that she will die without having ever really lived.

When Diana places an ad in the local newsletter, Cindy, Lise, and Sylvia show up thinking they are joining a book club, but what they discover is something far deeper and more profound than any of them ever imagined.

With wit, charm, and pathos, this mesmerizing tale of sisters, both born and built, enthralls on every page.

AMAZON     iTunes     Kobo    

BarnesandNoble

http://www.diversionbooks.com/ebooks/sisters-club

Lauren Baratz-Logsted Bio:

Displaying Author Photo.jpg

Lauren Baratz-Logsted is the author of over 25 books for adults, teens (including The Twin’s Daughter and Little Women and Me0, and children (The Sisters 8, a nine-book series she created with her husband and daughter). Before becoming an author, Lauren was an independent bookseller, freelance editor, Publishers Weekly reviewer, sort-of librarian and window washer. She lives with her family in Danbury, CT. Visit her at www.laurenbaratzlogsted.com or follow her @LaurenBaratzL on Twitter.

Links:

www.laurenbaratzlogsted.com

twitter.com/LaurenBaratzL

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/27212.Lauren_Baratz_Logsted

https://www.facebook.com/lauren.baratzlogsted

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

